The Academy is part of the University of Brighton Academies Trust, a multi-academy trust which is sponsored by the University of Brighton.

The trust’s Board of Trustees is ultimately responsible for the educational and financial performance of all of the academies in the trust; the trustees are the statutory governors of each academy and the company directors and charitable trustees of the University of Brighton Academies Trust.

Further information about the University of Brighton Academies Trust’s governance arrangements, including its Board of Trustees, Scheme of Delegation, Articles of Association and Funding Agreement, are available on the Trust’s website.

A series of committees, including a Local Board for each academy (or group of academies), supports the Board of Trustees in fulfilling its responsibilities.

The Local Board

Local Board members are volunteers representing different aspects of the academy community including parents/carers, staff and local people. The members contribute to the academy’s vision and future strategy, ensuring they complement the trust’s vision and values. They are responsible for keeping the academy at the heart of the community, maintaining strong community links and effective communication with all stakeholders, including the Board of Trustees. Local Board members ensure the celebration of staff, pupils and parents and carers is a priority to the academy. They are also responsible for monitoring pupil wellbeing, admissions, complaints and concerns.

Local Board members can be contacted through email at or in writing c/o the Academy. Local Board meeting minutes are available on request.

Two pupils looking at the camera

Contribute to education in your community

Find out more about joining a Local Board.

Who's on our Local Board?

Co-opted Members
Jan Adams , Chair of the Local Board
Rachel Creighton
Krishna Radia
Caroline Masterton
Rob Hill
Katie Kent
Jacob Brooks
Cathy Davy

Parent Members
Rachael Talbot (Churchwood)
Donna Barton (Silverdale)
Vacancy (West St Leonards)

Staff Members
Jo Bodiam (Churchwood)
Vacancy (Silverdale)
Fabrizio Horgan (West St Leonards)

Ros Collett (Churchwood)
Jonathan Morris (Silverdale)
Dominic O’Regan (West St Leonards)

Clerk to the Local Board
Claire Chapman

Key governance documents

Local Board Organisation


Declarations of Interest

Local Board Terms of Reference

Local Board membership